Center for Research in Comptuer Vision
Center for Research in Comptuer Vision


Twenty Year Celebration

REU Picture Book


August 3, 2007

Where: Fairwinds Alumni Center, UCF

Time Description
8:00 to 9:00 Breakfast
9:00 to 9:15 Kickoff: President Hitt, Provost Hickey, MJ Soileau, SEECS Director Batarseh, NSF Director DeMenthon, Jamal Nayfeh
(Welcome, guest introduction)
9:15 to 10:00 The First Decade of REU: Mubarak Shah, Kevin Bowyer, Ganapathy Krishnan
10:00 to 10:30 Reception
10:30 to 11:15 Panel session: Next Steps in Mentoring Undergraduates in Research (moderated by Louise Stark, Daniel DeMenthon, Alvin Wang, Adam Hoover)
11:15 to 11:45 From REU summer project to MIT Ph.D and to Ohio State Professorship: Professor James Davis, Ohio State (technical talk on Computer Vision)
11:45 to 12:30 How to start a startup?: Panel discussion by Former REU students moderated by Ganapathy Krishnan (Maha Salam, Warren Macchi, Bonnie Kaiser)
12:30 to 14:00 Luncheon (Student Union)
14:00 to 15:00 Poster Session 1010 Harris Center: 2007-08 REU Students Research Projects
3:15 to 3:45 The Second Decade of REU: Niels da Vitoria Lobo, Louise Stark, Takis Kasparis, Art Weeks, Marshall Tappen
3:45 to 4:15 Panel Session: Challenges for New Assistant Professors: moderated by R. Kasturi, former REU students: Bill Allen, Melanie Sutton, Min Shin
4:15 to 4:45 How REU helped me to become a manager at Harris Corporation: Jay Hackett
4:45 to 5:30 Panel session: Graduate School after REU moderated by Joan Peckham (Former REU students: Ankur Datta, Christopher Ingrassia . Vladimir Reilly)
7:00 to 9:00 Banquet (Student Union), Keynote Talk Ruzena Bajcsy, UC Berkeley

List of Attendees Celebrating 20 Years of REU at UCF


Dr. Mubarak Shah


Dr. Niels da Vitoria Lobo
Dr. Takis Kasparis
Dr. Art Weeks

Non-UCF Co-PIs

Professor Kevin W. Bowyer
Schubmehl-Prein Department Chair
Computer Science and Engineering
University of Notre Dame

Professor Louise Stark
Associate Dean, School of Engineering and Computer Science
Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor of Computer Engineering
University of Pacific

Dr. Ganapathy Krishnan

UCF Personnel

President John Hitt
Provost Terry Hickey
Vice President of Research MJ Soileau
Executive Associate Dean, CECS, Debra Reinhart
Associate Dean, CECS Academic Affairs, Jamal Nayfeh
Director of EECS Issa Batarseh
Dean, Office of Undergraduate Studies, Alison Morrison-Shetlar
Dean, The Burnett Honors College, Alvin Wang

Keynote Talk

Professor Ruzena Bajcsy
Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
University of California, Berkeley

Distinguished Guests

Dr. Daniel DeMenthon
Program Director
National Science Foundation

Dr. Donna Williams
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Stetson University

Dr. Joan Peckham
Department of Computer Science and Statistics
University of Rhode Island

Dr. Rangachar Kasturi
Douglas W. Hood Professor and Chair
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
University of South Florida

Former REU Students

Name Affiliation REU Program Year
William Allen Assistant Professor - FIT
Alison Austin University of Rochester
Jigna Bhatt Software Engineer
Kyong (Jin) Chang Philips Medical Systems
Ankur Datta Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon Univ.
Jim Davis Associate Professor - Ohio State
David Diel Scientific Systems Co. Inc
Todd Gillette Krasnow Institute - George Mason University
Jay Hackett Government Communications Systems Division Engineer - Harris Corporation
Connie Harper
Adam Hoover Associate Professor - Clemson University
Christopher Ingrassia Columbia University
Madhvi Kansagara Software Engineer - Northrop Grumman Corp.
Bonnie Kaiser Medicomp, Inc (
Alfred Levy Harris Corp.
Warren Macchi Abamis IT Solutions
Glenn Martin Institute for Simulation & Training, University of Central Florida
Merill McKee UCF
Rusty Phillips Data Transfer Solutions
Jan Prokaj UCF
Vladimir Reilly UCF
Maha Sallam Vice President, Director of iCAD
Christopher Schwarz UCF
Min Shin Assistant Professor - UNC Charlotte
Paul Smith Northrop Grumman
Michael Sollami Analyst, Warisan Capital
Melanie Sutton Associate Professor - University of West Florida